9th International Type Design Competition
for non-Latin typefaces


The Jury
Chairmen of the jury

  • Edik Ghabuzyan, Head of Department of Creating and Keeping Armenian Fonts at the National Book Chamber, consultant in Type Design for Adobe Systems, Armenia.
  • Boris Kochan, President of the the Typographic Society Munich (tgm – Typographische Gesellschaft München), Germany.
  • Gerry Leonidas, Type Designer, Senior Lecturer in Typography, University of Reading, UK.
  • Oliver Linke, Type Designer, teaches typography and graphic-design at the Designschule Munich, co-founder of Lazydogs Typefoundry, Germany.
  • Hrant Papazian, Type Designer, USA.
  • Carolyn Puzzovio, Type Designer, Principal lecturer at the School of Art & Design, University of Lincoln, UK.
  • Manvel Shmavonyan, Type Designer, non-staff employee of Paratype Inc, Armenia.

Armenian text typefaces

TypeFace NameDesigner CountryPrize
ArekKhajag ApelianNetherlandsFirst place
ASF AngelaAnzhella PoghosovaArmeniaSecond place
Fedra Sans ArmenianPeter Bil´ak &
Tatevik Aghababyan
GermanyThird place

Greek text typefaces

TypeFace NameDesigner CountryPrize
- - - -
GinnasioRiccardoDeFranceschiItalySecond place
PF Encore Sans ProPanos VassiliouGreeceSecond place
Mantika SansJürgen WeltinGermanyThird place

Cyrillic text typefaces

TypeFace NameDesigner CountryPrize
- - - -
Florian / Geo TextAleksey VanyashinRussiaSecond place
ASF AngelaAnzhella PoghosovaArmeniaThird place
Adamant ProVedran ErakovicSerbiaThird place

Display typefaces

TypeFace NameDesigner CountryPrize
Pf Regal ProPanos VassiliouGreeceFirst place
PF Champion Script ProPanos VassiliouGreeceSecond place
ZadieHenrik KubelUKThird place

The Grand Prize reward at a rate of 1000 euros was awarded to Khajag Apelian (Netherlands) for his typeface ‘Arek’.